Happy Record Store Day!!

Happy Record Store Day!!! I hope you all celebrate by supporting your local record stores or even just listening to some amazing music – I know I will be (You Are We came out yesterday and I can’t get enough). Unfortunately this year I am unable to attend, mainly because I don’t have a local record store- get me back to Cardiff- but I will definitely be getting my vinyls out and jamming out!

Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 16.50.52.png
Last years record store day purchases!!

I know some of you may be reading this and thinking “oh another wannabe hipster with her vinyl collection” and fair enough I would probably have thought the same. However the rise of vinyl’s is happening and I am loving every second of it- even if my bank account isn’t!!

Luckily I grew up in a household where my dad had a huge vinyl collection which he still regularly played- I mean, why wouldn’t you still listen to Queen’s discography on a record player if you have all the original releases. I have memories of spring cleaning whilst belting out every single word to “don’t stop me now” – whilst being told I am not allowed my dad’s precious vinyl collection.

I feel like my dad’s love for his vinyls is what inspired me to collect my own and have a ever expanding collection. At first it started with me only getting a few of my favourites – which then turned into me getting a few new releases. Slowly my collection grew bigger (its not the biggest but I now own 5/6 of my all time favourite albums, so to say I am happy with it is an understatement), and now every time one for my favourite artists brings out a new album I order the CD and Vinyl!

Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 16.51.01.png
Unfortunately these are the only The Black vinyls I was able to grab whilst they were still together- however being able to say I own The Best in Town on Vinyl is Am-a-zing!!

Although I don’t listen to my records as much as I would like, I absolutely love having a few hours to chill out and get some of my favourite records out, the time to just relax and listen to your favourite songs is irreplaceable.

Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 16.50.29.png
Once I found out about the collectable Computers singles, I had to get them all!! (and my family gifted me with Love Triangles Hate Square (tysm) – signed by the band and all!!!
Screen Shot 2017-04-22 at 16.50.43.png
5/6 of my all time favourite albums- Origin of Symmetry I am coming you.

 

Hope everyone enjoys today, I know I will!

Thanks for reading, Sydney x

Leave a Reply

