Frank Carter + The Rattlesnakes Modern Ruin tour!

Frank Carter (former Gallows + Pure Love singer) and the Rattlesnakes recently put out their second album ‘Modern Ruin’ – an album that I personally believe is possibly the best one of 2017 so far. If you have been keeping up with my recent blog posts (or my social media) you will be aware of my growing love for The Rattlesnakes.

Ever since The Blackouts ‘this is it, is it?’ tour in 2015 I have been desperate for a tour (a band) that I was willing to attend more than one show of. After TBO split I had been left with a huge gap in my life (a huge favourite band shaped hole if you will), and The Rattlesnakes have filled that gap. So after their Bristol show in November I knew their next tour was a tour I needed to attend more than one date on (especially after the adrenalin from the night).

As soon as they announced this tour, immediately I started planning ways I can attend more than one date. Luckily one of the shows happened to be down the road from my uni flat, and the other was in the South West- therefore both were very easy for me to attend!

The shows I attended were Cardiff, The Globe 26/03/2017 and Exeter, The Phoenix 27/03/2017. (Let me tell you if I could’ve done more I 100% would have.)

First up (in Cardiff) were Strange Bones- aggressive, lively and engaging. These boys were everything you’d expect at a Frank Carter show, full of energy both on stage (as well as when they were in the crowd, of course) and through the music. I highly suggest everyone checks these guys out, they have restored my faith in ‘new’ bands- yes I am afraid to say I fell into the trap of only listening to big bands. But not anymore!!

Personally I felt like Strange Bones were better at warming the crowd up, as within seconds of them coming on stage the entire room started bobbing their heads with huge smiles on their faces. (Luckily they were the second support at Exeter which resulted in the crowd raring to go- I seriously think these boys will go on to do amazing things!!)

However, Honaka were also amazing- in a very different way- although they didn’t warm the crowd up in the same way Strange Bones did they still are a band to watch! Female fronted and nothing like Paramore- ideal. Nowadays when I hear Female fronted rock band I automatically picture pop punk princess running around on stage. This was not the case. When the four-piece walked on the whole crowd was mesmerised by watch we were watching, whilst strange bones physically connected with the crowd (literally) Yonaka had us hooked!

Although both of these bands were amazing they were nothing in comparison to the almighty Frank Carter.

With a setlist of old and new, The Rattlesnakes gave fans everything they desired. Energy. Love. Passion and Crowdsurfing.

One of my favourite things from the two nights has to be my experience of modern ruin. If you read my last Frank Carter related blog post, you will know how much of a great time I had during that song. If you are unaware- Frank Carter has decided to make things for boys and girls equal. When going to shows he used to feel safe crowdsurfing and going in the pits, but since having a daughter he has realised it is a male dominated world- a world he wants to change.

Personally, this speaks out to me. My dad used to always take me to shows, he tried to show me that I could do anything that a boy could, that I could enter the pits and feel safe. However, as a girl it was simply not the case- it is hard to feel safe at a rock show when you are a girl. At 15 I entered my first circle pit- thank you Pulled Apart By Horses. At age 16 I entered my first pit- thank you While She Sleeps. At 19 I had my first (second, third and fourth) crowd surf- thank you The Rattlesnakes.

Although I can’t say I feel 100% safe partaking at all gigs, Frank Carter has made the dream a reality. He has created and environment where I feel safe to do everything I love. Thank you Frank Carter- you’re the best!!

I suggest everyone goes out and gets their copy of Modern Ruin and grab ticket to his December Tour – you you end up in Bristol I’ll see you there.

This isn’t something you’ll want to miss.

So much Rattlesnake love- this year really is the year of the snake.

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 20.47.15.png

Screen Shot 2017-04-11 at 20.50.14.png

(Image: Jennifer Mccord @jrcmccord- Third person right of Frank, what a perfect end to a perfect night) 

Sydney x

(unless stated, all photos are my own)

 

 

Leave a Reply

